Translation - Μετάφραση

Resources, Technical Assistance and Technology News => CAT Tools Tips and Assistance => Translator resources => SDL-Trados => Topic started by: spiros on 17 Oct, 2008, 14:15:22

Title: How to enter accents when editing a WinAlign cell - Use Advanced Edit instead of Quick Edit
Post by: spiros on 17 Oct, 2008, 14:15:22
How to enter accents when editing a WinAlign cell - Use Advanced Edit instead of Quick Edit

This was tested on 3 installations of SDL-Trados 8.2.0.835. Tried Greek accents as well as French accents.
A temporary solution is to paste text in Word and add the accents there and then paste text back to the WinAlign cell.

This problem did not occur in previous versions.
Further bug verification is welcome.

A similar question for Turkish characters:
http://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/98897-problem_with_turkish_characters_with_winalign.html?&print=1

I also posted the problem here:
http://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/118265-problems_entering_accents_in_winalign.html
Title: Re: WinAlign bug: Impossible to enter accents when editing a WinAlign cell
Post by: Speedyclick on 17 Oct, 2008, 16:42:10
WinAlign bug: Impossible to enter accents when editing a WinAlign cell

A temporary solution is to paste text in Word and add the accents there and then paste text back to the WinAlign cell.

This problem did not occur in previous versions.
Further bug verification is welcome.

A similar question for Turkish characters:
http://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/98897-problem_with_turkish_characters_with_winalign.html?&print=1

I also posted the problem here:
http://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/118265-problems_entering_accents_in_winalign.html

I verify the same bug with my installation too. A quick solution, similar to Spiros' is to have a small word file with just the 9 letters with accent άέήίόύώϊϋ and copy-paste them accordingly
Title: Re: WinAlign bug: Impossible to enter accents when editing a WinAlign cell
Post by: wings on 17 Oct, 2008, 16:43:24
Ε, ναι, αλλά δεν είναι δουλειά αυτή.
Title: Re: WinAlign bug: Impossible to enter accents when editing a WinAlign cell
Post by: spiros on 17 Oct, 2008, 16:45:51
I verify the same bug with my installation too. A quick solution, similar to Spiros' is to have a small word file with just the 9 letters with accent άέήίόύώϊϋ and copy-paste them accordingly


And two more:

άέήίόύώϊϋΐΰ
Title: Re: WinAlign bug: Impossible to enter accents when editing a WinAlign cell
Post by: Speedyclick on 17 Oct, 2008, 16:50:49
Βέβαια το καλό είναι πως σου φέρνει τη φράση όταν τη βρει από τη μνήμη και χωρίς τους τόνους γιατί ψάχνει με βάση το source. Ελπίζω να το διορθώσουνε σε καποιο νέο build. Αφού δεν υπήρχε πριν και εμφανίστηκε στη version 8 θα είναι κάποια πατατούλα απλή
Title: Re: WinAlign bug: Impossible to enter accents when editing a WinAlign cell
Post by: wings on 17 Oct, 2008, 16:53:16
Εμ, γι' αυτό λέω ότι δεν είναι δουλειά αυτή. Αφού είναι η νεότερη έκδοση και στις παλαιότερες δεν είχαμε το πρόβλημα αυτό, το θέμα είναι να το διορθώσουν κι όχι να κάνουμε μαγικά κόλπα.
Title: Re: WinAlign bug: Impossible to enter accents when editing a WinAlign cell
Post by: Speedyclick on 17 Oct, 2008, 16:59:34
Τελικά το δοκίμασα και με το ισπανικό πληκτρολόγιο που έχω και ούτε αυτό δουλεύει. Άρα μάλλον κανένα δε θα δουλεύει που οι τόνοι μπαίνουνε με συνδυαστική 2 πλήκτρων. Βέβαια εκπλήσσει λίγο το θέμα γιατί σημαίνει πως δεν πέρασε final quality control γιατί αυτό κάνει μπαμ. Δεν είναι ψιλομπαγκίδιο που λέγαμε κι εμείς παλιά :)

Λέτε μετά που τους πήρε η SDL να κάνανε μείωση προσωπικού και να τον απολύσανε εκείνον το geek που ήξερε από πληκτρολόγια; :)
Title: Re: WinAlign bug: Impossible to enter accents when editing a WinAlign cell
Post by: wings on 17 Oct, 2008, 17:05:22
Λες; Αχ, αυτοί οι Γερμανοί!
Title: Re: WinAlign bug: Impossible to enter accents when editing a WinAlign cell
Post by: Speedyclick on 17 Oct, 2008, 17:15:54
Στα Γερμανικά τα διαλυτικά πώς μπαίνουνε άραγε; Με διπλή πληκτρολόγηση ή είναι σε ένα πλήκτρο; Υποψιάζομαι το δεύτερο
Title: Re: WinAlign bug: Impossible to enter accents when editing a WinAlign cell
Post by: wings on 17 Oct, 2008, 17:17:47
Να μας πει ο Σπύρος που είναι γερμανομαθής.
Title: Re: WinAlign bug: Impossible to enter accents when editing a WinAlign cell
Post by: spiros on 17 Oct, 2008, 17:49:03
Εξαρτάται από τη διάταξη πληκτρολογίου. Το ίδιο ισχύει για τα Γαλλικά. Γενικά, οποιοιδήποτε χαρακτήρες θέλουν δύο πλήκτρα δεν μπαίνουν.

(https://www.translatum.gr/forum/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fcarbon.cudenver.edu%2F%7Etphillip%2Fgerman-keyboard-a.jpg&hash=69263fcdfef8569c3bd8df98799cc7aa5d21b362)
http://carbon.cudenver.edu/~tphillip/GermanKeyboardLayout.html

See: Word: How to enter French, German, Spanish, Portuguese with keyboard shortcuts  (https://www.translatum.gr/forum/index.php?topic=28758.msg149465#msg149465)
Title: Re: WinAlign bug: Impossible to enter accents when editing a WinAlign cell
Post by: Kalliana on 17 Oct, 2008, 18:00:38
Μπορεί κανείς να βάλει τόνους αν χρησιμοποιήσει το Advanced Edit. Σε εμένα λειτουργεί πάντως. Το απλό Edit δεν λειτουργεί.
Title: Re: WinAlign bug: Impossible to enter accents when editing a WinAlign cell
Post by: spiros on 17 Oct, 2008, 18:13:27
Όντως, έχεις δίκιο. Στο Quick Edit λειτουργούσε όμως στις παλαιότερες εκδόσεις.

Και ιδού η διαδικασία για να λειτουργήσει με το Advanced edit:

1. Right click on the cell
2. Select Edit segment and then Advanced Edit

(https://www.translatum.gr/forum/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fimg225.imageshack.us%2Fimg225%2F6910%2Falignaccents1wx7.jpg&hash=6534f538be6bcc5409abfed228c9634c0613a7fe)

(https://www.translatum.gr/forum/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fimg266.imageshack.us%2Fimg266%2F2043%2Falignaccents2nl0.jpg&hash=e960d6844491c938c98dbf57d8eb1fa4280fd807)