Kassiopeia or Kassiepeia

Offline kassyopeia

• Semi-Newbie
The wikipedia article claims that "Cassiopeia" means "she whose words excel", and there are a lot of google hits for that translation, but none of them give anything resembling an etymology. If I look up "word" and "excel", I don't see any translation that looks like it might be part of the name. Am I missing something, or is this just an often-repeated claim with no basis?
I found a few sites which discuss the etymology in what seems like a better-founded way, and they suggest that it either quite prosaically derives from the spice cassia, or that it's simply a meaningless proper name as far as Greek is concerned, with possible partial derivations from Egyptian or other early languages.

TIA for any elucidations. :)
« Last Edit: 22 Sep, 2009, 19:17:17 by billberg23 »

Offline elmak

• Eleni Makantani
Hello,

Without being an ancient Greek expert, I could find that the name Cassiopeia is the Greek Kassiopi, Kassiopeia, Kassiepeia or Kassopi (Κασσιώπη, Κασσιόπεια, Κασσιέπεια, Κασσώπη). It is a compound noun. The first part of it derives from the verb kainymi (καίνυμι=excel), of which the perfect form is kekasmai (κέκασμαι). Of course, this is just an allegation, because the name is so ancient, that scholars are unsure about its exact derivation. For the second part of it, there are two opinions. One says that it derives from the noun opsis (όψις) = looks (so it would mean "she who has excellent looks"). The other one says that it derives from the noun epos (έπος) = word (so it would mean "she who excels at words).

I hope that someone more expert than myself could help you learn what you are asking for or that they will correct anything incorrect that I might have posted here. The issue of names derivation and meaning is very interesting to me, too.

And just for your info,  there is a seaside resort on the Greek island of Corfu, called Kassiopi https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kassiopi

Online billberg23